PANEL DISCUSSION #5 – How Do We Move From Here: Rethinking Community

Wednesday, July 15, 2020 PANEL DISCUSSION #5 – Francisco GUEVARA, Moderator How Do We Move From Here: Rethinking Community 9:00 AM Mexico City CDT (10:00 AM EDT, 7:00 AM PDT, 4:00 PM Paris, 5:00 PM Dar es Salaam, 7:45 PM…

0
(0)

Wednesday, July 15, 2020

PANEL DISCUSSION #5 – Francisco GUEVARA, Moderator

How Do We Move From Here: Rethinking Community

9:00 AM Mexico City CDT (10:00 AM EDT, 7:00 AM PDT, 4:00 PM Paris, 5:00 PM Dar es Salaam, 7:45 PM Kathmandu, 10:00 PM Taipei, 11:00 PM Tokyo)
Panelists: Nathalie ANGLÈS, Residency Unlimited (USA) – Yang CHUN-SEN, TESACC (Taiwan) – Sheng-Li CHILIAN, Escuela de Artes Plásticas y Audiovisuales ARPA-BUAP (Mexico) – Junpei MORI, Paradise Air (Japan) – Gordana ZIKIC, Belgrade Artist in Residence (Serbia)

“An uncertain future” is what would closely describe the reality that artist residencies are facing after the events of the year 2020. We have all been forced to rethink our relationship to place and history, and to re-examine our sense of community. More than ever, borders have proven to be a fragile invention; however, the restrictions on mobility have been experienced by everyone. Emmanuel Levinas, the preeminent philosopher of ethics, wrote, “the Other concerns me as a neighbor” (Bolton, 2010) and thus, this is an opportunity to explore new collaborations across borders, beyond traditional residency networks, to reimagine our communities and expand the possibilities of our interconnectivity. In the words of Audre Lorde, “Without community there is no liberation.” How can residencies become an affront to “the order of things” and seize the opportunity to interrupt the violent continuity of history? How do we move together from here?

0 / 5. 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *